People Companies Advertise Archives Contact Us Jason Dowdell

Main > Archives > 2006 > August > Domain Registry Support Spammers

Tuesday, August 22, 2006

Domain Registry Support Spammers

I've received several pieces of junk snail mail from a company that goes by the name of "Domain Registry Support" their url is http://www.domainregistrysupport.com/ and they run a simple spam scam that you should be aware of.

Scam 1
They'll send you a letter in the mail (snailmail) letting you know that you need to register your domain name with them and you must renew it soon or else you are going to lose it and then you'll have to pay a bunch of money to get it back... from them of course.

Scam 2
If you don't ever respond to the first snail mail domain registry spam they send then they'll call all of the numbers associated with the domain name until they reach you. Then the operator will tell you that she has to verify your mailing address in order to make sure you're made aware of some very important changes happening on the internet that will affect your domain name.

Tip: Don't give them anything and don't verify your mailing address. This is just another boiler room spam house preying on the weak.

Posted By Jason Dowdell at 03:11 PM
Permanent Link: Domain Registry Support Spammers | Comments (4)

(4) Comments on Domain Registry Support Spammers

I got that snailmail a few weeks ago. Sad thing is, I actually had to think about it for a moment because I registered my domain with a smaller company.

Comments by Thomas : Tuesday, August 22, 2006 at 05:50 PM

I've gotten that mail before as well, def makes you think

Comments by Evan : Wednesday, August 23, 2006 at 09:43 AM

In Australia a company is mailing anyone who has a domain registered and attempting to sell them new domains at prices way above what they should be. I guess like most scams they only have to get through to a small percentage to make their money. Apparantly the same people have operated scams in other countries such as New Zealand.

Comments by Andrew : Thursday, August 24, 2006 at 03:08 PM

I just got a fax from them. Called a toll free # (I hope was toll free) and got a series of people asking for acct # or domain name. I hung up. If it isnt my domain registrar, they have no business with me or my domain name

Comments by Dean : Wednesday, January 10, 2007 at 01:40 PM

Post a Comment











Subscribe to Marketing Shift PostsSubscribe to The MarketingShift Feed

Add Marketing Shift to your Technorati Favs